Dungeons and Dragons Special Initiative Actions 3.5 PBP RPG

Tue, 23rd April, 2019 - 10:32 pm GMT
Home WoM D&D Pathfinder Gwynedd RoK +

Check Out: Ruler of Kings II Text RPG Solo Play by Post
D&D Basics Races Classes Skills Feats Combat Equipment Adventuring Spells Psionics Monsters Divine Sitemap Create Character Other RPGs

Special Initiative Actions

Here are ways to change when you act during combat by altering your place in the initiative order.

Delay

By choosing to delay, you take no action and then act normally on whatever initiative count you decide to act. When you delay, you voluntarily reduce your own initiative result for the rest of the combat. When your new, lower initiative count comes up later in the same round, you can act normally. You can specify this new initiative result or just wait until some time later in the round and act then, thus fixing your new initiative count at that point.

You never get back the time you spend waiting to see what's going to happen. You can't, however, interrupt anyone else's action (as you can with a readied action).

Initiative Consequences of Delaying: Your initiative result becomes the count on which you took the delayed action. If you come to your next action and have not yet performed an action, you don't get to take a delayed action (though you can delay again).

If you take a delayed action in the next round, before your regular turn comes up, your initiative count rises to that new point in the order of battle, and you do not get your regular action that round.

Ready

The ready action lets you prepare to take an action later, after your turn is over but before your next one has begun. Readying is a standard action. It does not provoke an attack of opportunity (though the action that you ready might do so).

Readying an Action: You can ready a standard action, a move action, or a free action. To do so, specify the action you will take and the conditions under which you will take it. Then, any time before your next action, you may take the readied action in response to that condition. The action occurs just before the action that triggers it. If the triggered action is part of another character's activities, you interrupt the other character. Assuming he is still capable of doing so, he continues his actions once you complete your readied action. Your initiative result changes. For the rest of the encounter, your initiative result is the count on which you took the readied action, and you act immediately ahead of the character whose action triggered your readied action.

You can take a 5-foot step as part of your readied action, but only if you don't otherwise move any distance during the round.

Initiative Consequences of Readying: Your initiative result becomes the count on which you took the readied action. If you come to your next action and have not yet performed your readied action, you don't get to take the readied action (though you can ready the same action again). If you take your readied action in the next round, before your regular turn comes up, your initiative count rises to that new point in the order of battle, and you do not get your regular action that round.

Distracting Spellcasters: You can ready an attack against a spellcaster with the trigger 'if she starts casting a spell.' If you damage the spellcaster, she may lose the spell she was trying to cast (as determined by her Concentration check result).

Readying to Counterspell: You may ready a counterspell against a spellcaster (often with the trigger 'if she starts casting a spell'). In this case, when the spellcaster starts a spell, you get a chance to identify it with a Spellcraft check (DC 15 + spell level). If you do, and if you can cast that same spell (are able to cast it and have it prepared, if you prepare spells), you can cast the spell as a counterspell and automatically ruin the other spellcaster's spell. Counterspelling works even if one spell is divine and the other arcane.

A spellcaster can use dispel magic to counterspell another spellcaster, but it doesn't always work.

Readying a Weapon against a Charge: You can ready certain piercing weapons, setting them to receive charges. A readied weapon of this type deals double damage if you score a hit with it against a charging character.


Sponsor Ads:

Latest RPG Post

Respar tries not to make a sound when the brand burns into his tricep, but grunts and groans escape his lips. Even a curse word or two (If anyone speaks it, he curses in Celestial). But he does not issue threats.

Once the group is alone he turns away from the others and begins to whistle tunelessly for a few minutes. He seems to be ignoring the others in the cell. But he finally turns and looks at the fiery barbarian woman and the tiefling.

"Oh I assure I can be useful. But before I agree to help you with your pointless attempt to smash and kill your way out of here, leaving everyone behind in various states of dismemberment and death, let me offer you an alternative. It may not be as… satisfying to your bloodlust, but I think it might have a slightly better chance of achieving escape, which is my priority."

He lowers his voice and says, "Right now there are few enough guards out there we might be able to overpower them. But if we suddenly start tearing chains from walls and what have you, they'll call for reinforcements. However if we can just get one or two to come in, I can have us ready to totally take them by surprise, and possibly very quietly. You might prefer to put on a loud and violent show, but I prefer to work quietly."

He then raises his hands, freed from the manacles in his lap. "Now, what say you all?"

See Similar Topics


Top

NOTE: In the case of D&D, Wizards holds the copyright for its material. The versions most Players in our Community tend to use Dungeons & Dragons 2-3.5 although others may use higher versions.



Search via our Community for:

Dungeons and Dragons Special Initiative Actions - D&D 3.5 PBP RPG Coded by: BGID®  |  ALL RIGHTS RESERVED Copyright © 2004-2019
Disclaimer  |  Privacy  |  Report Errors / Contact  |  Credits

Future Terra II

Automated system to Role-play. No worries about Rules, Dice or updating your Character Sheet, they are taken care of for you. Just immerse in pure Role-playing.
Become A Backer!

See More

RPG Highlights

Barbarian's Guild: What are your thoughts about this Topic? By Ammon 9th Apr, 2019 - 8:29pm
Fighter's Guild: What are your thoughts about this Topic? By Symphony 4th Apr, 2019 - 4:00pm
Assassin's Guild: What are your thoughts about this Topic? By Ashashin 18th Nov, 2018 - 10:22pm
Alchemist's Guild: What are your thoughts about this Topic? By warlock 24th Aug, 2018 - 6:31pm
Bard's Guild: What are your thoughts about this Topic? By Wizard 1st Jul, 2018 - 10:05pm
Emissary's Guild: What are your thoughts about this Topic? By Wizard 1st Jul, 2018 - 10:03pm
Ranger's Guild: What are your thoughts about this Topic? By Wizard 1st Jul, 2018 - 6:40pm
Druid's Guild: What are your thoughts about this Topic? By ROK Harker 10th Jun, 2018 - 12:21am
Cleric's Guild: What are your thoughts about this Topic? By ROK Harker 10th Jun, 2018 - 12:20am
Rogue's Guild: What are your thoughts about this Topic? By ROK Harker 10th Jun, 2018 - 12:18am

This site uses Cookies to dispense or record information with regards to your visit. By continuing to use this site you agree to the terms outlined in our Cookies used here: Privacy / Disclaimer,